Next to Nom noms…

The breath before the dive.  This Monday is the calm before the storm (figuratively of course.) Next to Normal had our first full run-through of the show on Friday, and then another one on Saturday.  I have to say both runs were very informative. The first one helped just to know what in the WORLD we were doing, following our blocking tracks, changing shoes, mania…. However, the run-through on Saturday for me was such a learning experience.  For the first time I was able to trust my blocking and immerse myself in the world.  I think everyone in the cast made huge discoveries that day and found so much color and depth within each of our scenes.  It was truly an encouraging experience before we jump into tech this week.

AHHH Tech! I personally LOVE tech rehearsals. I know they’re long. I know you stand around a lot. I know it’s hurry up and wait.  But man, if I don’t just love the opportunity to get to sit and marinate on a scene for a little while as people work so hard around me to make it look awesome.  I have a real respect and admiration for the people in theatre that are responsible for the technical aspects because they make my job a WHOLE lot easier! So while tech weekend does seem a bit daunting, I think it’s going to be an incredible experience.

The BIG excitement of the week though is the sitzprobe on Thursday. “Sitzprobe (German) is a term used in opera and musical theatre to describe a seated rehearsal – which is the literal translation of Sitzprobe – where the singers sing with the orchestra, focusing attention on integrating the two groups. It is often the first rehearsal where the orchestra and singers rehearse together. The equivalent Italian term is prova all’italiana.” (Thank you Wikipedia 😉 )  When working in musical theatre, you are not always guaranteed a sitzprobe, so it’s going to be an incredible opportunity!

Some other shows that I’d like to make shout outs about are:

The Devil Tree (The Collective Project)

Apples and Oranges (Alliance- Hertz Stage)

Robin Hood (Aurora)

There are more I’m sure, and if I’ve missed yours LET ME KNOW. I’m trying to make all of them that I can juggle between my own rehearsal schedule. Woot!  Speaking of shows…you should come see me in Next to Normal! And if you’re making plans to come, let me know so I can hug you after the show (or just wave at you- for my friends that don’t like hugs 😛 )

Below is a pic from the N2N potluck this past Saturday.  Our cast can cook- I’m just sayin…

Until the other side of tech weekend…
~Lyndsay~

~Song of the Day~
(Been listening to the Piano Guys a lot recently- highly recommend them!)

Leave a Reply

