An Unexpected Quest…

A few weeks since my last past, time for a little catch up…

THE SHOW:
Little Women at Fabrefaction Theatre has opened:IMG_4048

The ladies in the picture above have truly been such a blessing. It has been a unique experience discovering what it means to be “sisters.”  Last night was the first show of our third weekend so if you haven’t had a chance to come out to the show yet, you still have the rest of this weekend and next to venture with the March sisters.  The theatre now has discounted tickets for $15! So be sure to grab yours today. www.fabrefaction.org

THE FUNNY:
I realized late one evening as I was lugging my 2 bags and pillow into Margo’s (a DEAR friend of mine and temp roommate) that my coming and going every weekend from an apartment must be a spectacle.  Especially since I always get in late, and leave early in the morning.  What will the neighbors think of a young woman always lugging her pillow to and from the complex???

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

THE ADVENTURE:
Picture this: It’s 10:30. I’ve arrived at Atlantic Station Regal Theatres for my daddy/daughter date to the midnight showing of The Hobbit (a movie I have been waiting for since “Return of the King” credits rolled). I meet up with my dad.  I’ve got my Hobbit t-shirt, my cell pic of the billboard, my 3D glasses, and complementary posters commemorating my IMAX 3D experience of the movie. We locate two seats together on the edge, maybe not the ideal seats you want, but no big deal since at least our necks won’t be craning back and aching by the end of the movie. 12:01 rolls around and I put on my glasses, only to discover one of the lenses on the glasses are broken.  Thinking it’s a smudge I try and clean it. I notice my dad doing the same thing. I notice every patron in the audience doing the same thing.  It’s not the glasses at all. One of the projectors is broken. We hear the announcement that they are going to reboot it to try and fix it.  20 MINUTES LATER. We are all still sitting there. They have rebooted the projector maybe 3x at this point, but still no luck.  My dad and I are chuckling- because this is such a typical “Ricketson evening” and there’s just no sense in getting angry.  Really, all I care about is venturing into Middle Earth with Bilbo. I don’t care about the 3D, just start the 2D movie and I think I will manage. All of the other LOTR series were in 2D right? I mean, I only splurged cause I wanted the IMAX screen. I’m not even a huge fan of 3D.

We receive another announcement they will reboot one more time- then BAM! The fire alarm goes off. The lights start flashing and making noise, and I burst into laughter.  No one in the theatre makes a break for the doors. We’re all just sitting there thinking, “You’ve got to be kidding me.” I see a young woman come back in and announce to her group of friends that one of the popcorn machines caught on FIRE! The sprinklers cut on and now there are firemen in the lobby.  It’s getting close to 12:45AM now.  People are getting up and leaving. Demanding their money back etc. I glance at my dad who is standing leaning against the theatre wall grinning, and we share a laugh.  He shakes his head and says, “We’ll wait it out.” Another guy from the theatre comes in and announces what’s happened and says they are going to reboot the WHOLE  theatre and start in a few minutes. It’s now nearing 1AM…

A large group in the middle of our row gets up and leaves. My dad and I look at our seating companions (new-found friends from our epic experience) and ask if they want to all move toward the middle. So we all get up and move to the middle of the theatre. Just as we get settled the main guy announces they are starting the movie regardless of whether it’s 2D or 3D, they would have refunds for all of us after the movie and they were still working to get the 3D working so if the screen went blurry that meant it was working. (We’ve all given up on the 3D at this point dude, you should too…just give us Bilbo and we can be friends again.)

The movie starts…the crowd erupts…the 3D is WORKING. I am finally launched into the magical world of Middle Earth and life is good. I won’t even bother to go into detail about the stranger that had us all clap in rhythm while he danced for us, the hobbits that trekked up and down the stairs next to me, or the fact that the parking garage ticket machine was broken. All that mattered is that my dad and I had one of the best daddy/daughter dates until 4:20AM in the morning.

No one told me that seeing The Hobbit was going to be a *cough* ‘Unexpected Journey….’

9660_660131399798_1317796505_n

 

Much Love,
~Lyndsay~

~Song of the Day~

Leave a Reply

