At a Glance

More than half the year is gone since my last post (my apologies) and though busyness is no excuse, it is the primary reason for the time lapse.  However, all that to say, here is my life at a glance over the past months:

FEBRUARY:

I had the wonderful opportunity to understudy three actor’s in the Alliance’s Wizard of Oz.  It was such a wonderful learning experience (and challenging.) Since I had never understudied before, I had the opportunity to learn a whole new process of “acting” and “rehearsal” to say the least.  Understudying is FAR different than actually playing the part- but if you ask my opinion, (and even if you don’t I’m going to tell you anyway) I feel like learning to understudy is something every actor should at least experience once in their lives. It will change the way you appreciate acting in general (and also allows you to watch other actors over, and over, and over, and over again- all the while learning from their process.)

That’s right- I had my own pre-labeled MUG!

My headshot in the front of the lobby

I also had the great honor of being asked to perform at my Alma Mater, Berry College, for Scholarship Night.  I can’t begin to express how much this opportunity to give back to my school meant to me.  It was actually a dream of mine to be asked to come back and perform.  CHECK that off the bucket list!

My place setting and nametag 🙂 #fancypants

MARCH-APRIL:

These months followed the journey of Titanic: the Musical at Fabrefaction Theatre.  I played the role of Kate Murphey (an Irish emigrant) and was overjoyed to work under the direction of Jeff McKerley.  It was memorable to be portraying the tragic sinking of that great ship on its 100 year anniversary.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

MAY:

In May I was asked to sing at the Alliance’s “Taste of the Season”- WOW! So much fun, and such an incredible chance to be around some of Atlanta’s amazing talent!

I sang: “Superboy and the Invisible Girl” from Next to Normal

JUNE:

I taught Musical Theatre and Voice at Georgia Ensemble Theatre’s camps!  I had taught students on a smaller scale before, but working at GET this summer really put into perspective all of the HARD WORK and DILIGENCE teachers have to teach school day in and day out during the school year. What an amazing calling they have on their lives- I applaud you ALL!

JULY-AUGUST:

These months contained a LOT of auditions, working at the tux shop (yay job!), dance class, and performing with Voices of Atlanta (VOA). VOA performed at the Georgia World Congress Center for Microsoft Global Exchange. This event was a lot of fun, and I also had the chance to audition for and sing a small solo! Woot!

This was also when I started going back to dance class to up my “game” – and while it was a challenge to make myself go to 4-6 classes/week, I’m glad I did!

Toward the end of August I was invited to sing at Serenbe Playhouse’s Cabaret as a special guest.  It was night full of fun musical theatre songs- and talent! (Not to mention I got to spend the evening with some dear friends of mine- even if it did include rescuing a friend from a car wreck and cramming my little Scion full to make the trek 😉 )

FINALLY, on August 28th the Alliance announced its cast for Next to Normal -which I am PROUD to be a part of! To say that I am beyond excited does not even come close. I am so grateful for this opportunity and can’t wait to begin. This of course brings us to the present- as N2N begins rehearsals this Tuesday!

So wow, what a year so far, and more to come! 3 days and counting…
~Lyndsay~

~Song of the Day~

This is because I feel like everyone should at least see this video!

Leave a comment